A – Z of Autism 2017: C is for “Cruel”

ABA is so kind. It’s doing such a service. It’s the only compassionate option for those defective, damaged creatures…

“That’s cruel. ABA is cruel.”

Compassion! The only option! It’s not like that!

“Yes it is and it’s cruel. You can’t dog train a child into being something they’re not.”

So you want them to be a damaged human being?

“No, because they’re not, and insisting they are is cruel.”

Well I don’t care.

“Shove it up your ass, then, if you don’t care that you’re abusing children.”

Oooh, who’s being cruel now? To me?

“You want to see cruel? I could tell you you’re a glorified conversion therapist working on an even more marginalized population. I could tell you you’re a circus animal trainer who works on humans to make them jump through flaming hoops, who doesn’t even care when they get burned. I could tell you that you’re a PTSD-vendor, a trauma-trigger, an abuse machine, a suicide pusher.

“I could be nicer. I could tell you that you’re just ignorant, willfully so even, about the harm you’re doing. I could tell you that if you didn’t see the harm you were doing you either weren’t looking or couldn’t understand because you couldn’t see the subject as human. I could tell you that you’ve been fooled to be a servant of people with evil agendas and you’re one of those folks just doing their job.

“I could tell you that your job is to break people. Real people. You take a hammer to the perfectly fine Autistic exterior and try to break it apart to find the real person inside. But you find nothing but a shattered child, because the real person is lying in pieces on the floor.

“I could tell you all of that. I could tell you you hurt people. That you break people. That you’re a monster.

“But you’d just call me cruel.

“Or maybe you’re looking in a mirror.”

Leave a Reply

