A – Z of Autism 2017: D is for Danger

Being an advocate is scary.

Sometimes it’s dangerous.

Yesterday  I had to disrupt a panel about Autism that lacked any Autistic people.

I had the danger response. I had the shaking and the stuttering and the wanting to run and cry but I stood and I fought against something that was dangerous to my community. Something that, as the case is every day in April, would spread misinformation and fear and make people want us dead.

But I spoke up. And I’m working to fix it. Because I refused to believe that there was no danger in talking about Autistic people without us. I refused to believe it would be okay if I said nothing.

The world is a dangerous place for an advocate. It’s scary. But we can make it less dangerous.

Leave a Reply

